Marigold IceUnity recruited the first male skater in its history

Simoeemil Nurmela will start his senior career next season with Marigold Ice Unity. / Credits: Tero Wester Photography

The present World Champion Marigold IceUnity has recruited a male skater in the team for next season. Simoeemil Nurmela (age 19) skated last year with Dream Edges from Kaarina in Finland. This junior team won the national Finnish championship for the first time in spring 2018.

Anu Oksanen who has coached MIU from the year 1993 welcomed this reform but admits that creating the new choreographies this summer requires more brainwork. She emphasizes that the team doesn´t search for attention with this modification. Simoeemil Nurmela earned his place with his skills. You have to meet the exact demands if you want to become a part of this team that has already many world titles. 

Anu Oksanen convinces that, as a part of the team, Simoeemil Nurmela is an equal skater and has to work in the same way as others. Creating the new programs has needed a different point of views but for her, it is important to recur year after year.

img
The new skater of MIU has already skated in synchro teams. Last season he was a member of the Finnish junior champions Dream Edges. / Credits: Kirsi Laine Photography

The new challenge: shortening the free program 

According to the interview published by the local newspaper Turun Sanomat, Simoeemil Nurmela tells hat the change from juniors to seniors is very big. In spite of the challenge, he feels good and he thinks he can get forward on his skating career. Marigold IceUnity has received the new skaters well.

The team has been recently in a camp in Kuortane Olympic Training Center working on the new programs. Anu Oksanen doesn’t want to reveal the themes yet but tells that as every year the creating process is challenging. The reforms in elements and the shortening of the free program requires new thinking. Anyway, the goal is to renew the world championship title. 

img
Dream Edges junior team presented a very expressive and original free program last season on the theme of psychiatric asylum. / Credits: Tero Wester Photography

The new season is very important to the Finns because of the World Synchronized Skating Championships 2019 will be in Helsinki. All the Finnish teams will reveal their programs during the autumn before that they keep the secrets.

The first competition this year is Finlandia Trophy in Espoo on October, 5 th – 7 th. The teams will compete there only with their short programs.





Jura Synchro wants to remain a free and quality media for synchronized skating fans around the world.

You now have the opportunity to support people who commit voluntarily to this wonderful sport, give their time, analyze and write articles for Jura Synchro. Did you like the news above? Support now Marjaana Saartenoja who wrote this article by giving a tip through the secure PayPal platform. This is very easy and depending on your country and using a computer you do not even need an account to reward your correspondent; only a credit card.

Whatever the amount, 2$, 5€, 9£ or more... all the profits will be redistributed to Marjaana Saartenoja. Do not hesitate and help now!

Latest news


Advertising

On SynchroBook

#Synchro

Marigold IceUnity a recruté le premier patineur de son histoire


Simoeemil Nurmela débutera sa carrière en senior la saison prochaine avec les Marigold Ice Unity. /Credits : Tero Wester Photography 

L’actuel champion du monde, le team Marigold IceUnity a recruté un nouveau patineur masculin pour la saison prochaine. Simoeemil Nurmela (19 ans) a patiné la saison dernière avec l'équipe junior Dream Edges de Kaarina en Finlande. La renommée de cette équipe junior n'est plus à faire puisqu'elle a remporté le championnat national de Finlande pour la première fois au printemps 2018. 


Anu Oksanen, qui dirige les Marigold IceUnity (MIU) depuis 1993, considère que ce changement est le bienvenue. Elle admet toutefois que la création de nouvelles chorégraphies nécessite cette année davantage de travail intellectuel. Elle insiste sur le fait que son équipe ne cherche pas à avoir davantage d'attention avec cette modification. Simoeemil Nurmela a mérité sa place grâce à ses compétences de patinage. Pour entrer dans l'équipe aux multiples titres mondiaux, il faut pouvoir répondre à des exigences très élevées, détaille-t-elle. 

Pour Anu Oksanen, Simoeemil Nurmela a su montrer son potentiel et il doit à présent travailler de la même manière que les autres athlètes. La création des nouveaux programmes a nécessité davantage de conseils extérieurs mais pour la coach, il est important d'innover chaque année. 


img
Le nouveau patineur des MIU a déjà roulé sa bosse dans de nombreuses équipes de synchro. La saison dernière, il patinait avec les champions juniors de Finlande, l'équipe Dream Edges. /Credits : Kirsi Laine Photography 


Le nouveau défi: raccourcir le programme libre

Dans une interview publiée dans le journal local Turun Sanomat, Simoeemil Nurmela avoue que le passage des juniors aux seniors est très grand. Malgré le défi, il se sent bien et pense pouvoir avancer dans sa carrière de patineur. De leur côté, les athlètes du Marigold IceUnity ont bien accueilli les nouveaux patineurs cet été.

L’équipe a vécu récemment son camp d’entraînement au centre olympique de Kuortane pour travailler les nouveaux programmes. Anu Oksanen ne souhaite pas encore dévoiler les thèmes de la saison prochaine mais dit que, comme chaque année, le processus de création engendre beaucoup de challenges. Les changements dans les éléments et le raccourcissement du programme libre nécessitent une toute nouvelle réflexion. Dans tous les cas, pour la coach, le but est de pouvoir faire aussi bien que la saison passée lors des championnats du monde. 


img
L'équipe junior Dream Edges avait présenté un programme libre très expressif et original la saison dernière sur le thème de l'asile psychiatrique. /Credits : Tero Wester Photography 


La saison prochaine sera très importante pour les Finlandais en raison des championnats du monde de patinage synchronisé 2019 qui auront lieu à Helsinki. Toutes les équipes finlandaises dévoileront leurs programmes au cours de l'automne prochain, d'ici là ils resteront secrets.

La première compétition cette année pour les équipes seniors de Finlande sera le Finlandia Trophy qui se tiendra à Espoo les 5 et 7 octobre. Les équipes seront en compétition uniquement avec leurs programmes courts.