Worlds

Junost, Skyliners and Crystal Ice took the 2018 World Junior medals


Image

Skaters of Team Crystal Ice took their revenge in Zagreb and won the bronze. /Credits : Tero Wester Photography 

On the second competition day of World Junior Championship, the 21 teams continued their race with their all-out effort. The first 4 teams from Short Program kept their positions while middle-tier teams’ positions have shifted much.


The champion Russian Junost (SP: 68.50; FS: 106.08; total: 174.58) continued widening the gap between them and silver medallist Team USA1 Skyliners Junior with their “Walpurgis Night” program. Although Skyliners were better technically both in terms of levels of difficulty and result of execution, Junost managed to score higher for the Program Components and delivered the program with no fall.



Skyliners made history

The American Skyliners (SP: 65.15; FS: 104.67; total: 169.82) showcased the strength and beauty of their “Black Swan” program elegantly. It was not difficult to understand why their No-hold Element was especially rated favorably as they were able to maintain good shape and positions even after change of skaters’ positions and twizzles. Intersections were also smoothly executed. The one fall was a small black spot for the otherwise impeccable performance. This is a historical result for the USA! 



Bronze medallist Team Crystal Ice as Team Russia 2 (SP: 63.33; FS: 103.81; Total: 167.14) had among all teams the highest base value for technical elements. Their “Game of Thrones” program incorporated operatic episodes of short drama to convey their theme. No-hold Element was beautifully executed with good maintenance of shape, complicated steps, and significant upper body movement. It is worthy of note that it seems judges’ views on the whip intersection are not uniform for reason that is not clear. However, what is clear to spectators is that the team rejoiced very much by the end of the skate. They came back to the Worlds with a medal to take home.

In the fourth position is Les Suprêmes Junior (SP: 62.33; FS: 100.66; Total: 162.99) representing Canada. They received much applause from a large squad of loyal supporters and spectators who were impressed by their creative chess-theme program. They skated clean and the flow from one element to another was smooth. Their paired sit spin is definitely one of the highlights of the program. 


Image
Les Suprêmes did a good performance on Saturday night. /Credits : Sean McKinnon 


Ranked fifth in Free Skating is Finnish Dream Edges (SP: 50.84; FS: 96.21; Total: 147.05) who showed resolve in making up lost ground.  They delivered the Free Program “Escape from the Mental Asylum” with creative flair.  It was much enriched with a careful incorporation of facial expression and body language to deliver a convincing story behind their programme.  A variety of music was carefully edited to form a closely-knitted program.  Creative entry into whip intersection impressed audience once again.  Despite a fall, they earned much respect from spectators with their overall performance. 

The other Finnish team Team Fintastic (SP: 57.70; FS: 96.09; Total: 153.79) followed closely in Free Skating with the “La La Land” medley music. Their sharp yellow dresses are so smart that it is hard to forget. Eventually, with the better Short Program score, Fintastic are able to land at the overall fifth position.  Dream Edges are at the overall 7th position.



Lexettes (SP: 55.95; FS: 92.41; Total: 148.36) representing the USA brought another refreshing choreography of “La La Land” medley to the audience. Their facial expression completed the full package of the pleasant program. Team Germany of Team Berlin Junior (SP: 32.32; FS: 66.75; Total: 99.07) also skated to “La La Land” movie music and they had unbeatable colorful dresses to amaze everyone in the arena.

Other teams also left strong impressions for spectators. For example, Team Sweden 1 Team Spirit (SP: 34.25; FS: 80.03; Total: 114.28) regained confidence. Their clean performance with no fall was accompanied by supportive fans’ encouragement and applause.



The two days of competition passed quickly. The end of championships leaves head-scratching spectators with lots of imaginations for the next season. Creative new programs? Of course! Excitement? Definitely! Which teams will win their country’s qualification? I am eager for the next season already.



Results

Mondiaux

Junost, Skyliners et Crystal Ice, médaillés 2018 des championnats du monde juniors


Les patineuses du Team Crystal Ice ont pris leur revanche à Zagreb en remportant la médaille de bronze. /Credits : Tero Wester Photography

Lors de la deuxième journée de compétition du championnat du monde junior, les 21 équipes participantes ont présenté le meilleur pour cet ultime concours de la saison. Les 4 premières équipes du programme court ont conservé leur place acquise aux programmes courts alors que les positions des équipes intermédiaires ont beaucoup changé.


Le Team Junost (SP : 68,50 ; FS : 106,08 ; total : 174,58) a continué à creuser l'écart samedi soir avec le médaillé d'argent Team USA 1, Skyliners Junior. Les champions russes ont présenté leur programme "Walpurgis Night". Bien que les Skyliners étaient techniquement meilleurs en termes de niveau de difficulté et de résultat d'exécution, Junost a réussi à obtenir un score plus élevé dans les composantes du programme. L'équipe a exécuté un programme libre sans aucune chute. 



Les Skyliners sont entrés dans l'histoire

Les Américaines Skyliners (SP : 65,15 ; FS : 104,67 ; total : 169,82) ont montré avec élégance la force et la beauté de leur programme "Black Swan". Leur No Hold Element a été particulièrement bien noté, car les patineuses ont été capables de maintenir une bonne formation même après un changement de position, une série de pas et des twizzles. Les intersections se sont également déroulées de manière très fluide. Une chute a tout de même entâchée la performance des patineuses de New York qui remportent une médaille des Mondiaux pour la première fois de l'histoire. 



Le médaillé de bronze c'est le Team Crystal Ice qui patinait en tant que Team Russie 2 (SP : 63,33 ; FS : 103,81 ; Total : 167,14). L'équipe a eu, parmi toutes les équipes, la valeur de base la plus élevée pour les éléments techniques. Leur programme "Game of Thrones" a incorporé de bons moments de chorégraphie dramatique. No-hold Element a été magnifiquement exécuté avec un bon maintien de la forme, des pas compliqués et une bonne gestuelle du haut du corps. Il convient de noter les juges n'ont pas noté de la même manière l'intersection en "whip". Cependant, ce qui est clair pour les spectateurs, c'est que l'équipe s'est beaucoup réjouie de sa performance à la fin du programme. Ils font donc leur retour dans le top 3 mondial avec une médaille de bronze.

Les Suprêmes Junior (SP : 62,33 ; FS : 100,66 ; Total : 162,99) représentent le Canada terminent au pied du podium. Soutenues par le public, les athlètes ont présenté leur fameux programme créatif sur le thème des échecs. Ils ont patiné proprement et les transitions d'un élément à l'autre furent fluides. Leurs pirouettes assises en duo furent sans aucun doute l'un des points forts de leur programme.


img
/Credits :


Les Finlandais Dream Edges terminent à la cinquième place des programmes libres (PS : 50,84 ; FS : 96,21 ; Total : 147,05). L'équipe a fait preuve de détermination pour rattraper le terrain perdu. Avec leur programme libre baptisé "Escape from the Mental Asylum", les patineurs ont une nouvelle fois impressionné l'audience grâce à leur expression faciale et leur langage corporel afin de livrer une histoire convaincante. Malgré une chute durant une transition, ils ont gagné beaucoup de respect de la part des spectateurs grâce à leurs deux performances à Zagreb.

L'autre équipe finlandaise engagée Team Fintastic (SP : 57,70 ; FS : 96,09 ; Total : 153,79) a suivi de près dans le classement des programmes libres. Les athlètes d'Helsinki ont patiné sur un medley de "La La Land". Dans leurs robes jaunes, le Team Fintastic atterrit à la cinquième position générale. Dream Edges finit à la 7ème place du classement final.



La mode "La La Land"

Les Lexettes (SP : 55,95 ; FS : 92,41 ; Total : 148,36) représentant les Etats-Unis ont une autre version rafraîchissante de "La La Land". L'équipe d'Allemagne Team Berlin Junior (SP : 32,32 ; FS : 66,75 ; Total : 99,07) a également patiné sur la musique du film "La La Land". Avec leur robes colorées, l'équipe a étonné tout le monde dans la patinoire. 

D'autres équipes ont également fait bonne impression aux spectateurs samedi. Par exemple, Team Sweden 1, Team Spirit (SP : 34,25 ; FS : 80,03 ; Total : 114,28) a repris confiance après les programmes courts. Leur performance propre et sans chute s'est accompagnée d'encouragements et d'applaudissements de la part des fans. 



Les deux jours de compétition sont vite passés. La fin du championnat du monde laisse les fans avec des idées plein la tête pour la saison prochaine. De nouveaux programmes créatifs ? Bien sûr ! De l'excitation ? Définitivement ! Quelles équipes remporteront les qualifications 2019 dans leur pays ? J'ai déjà hâte à la prochaine saison.



Résultats